THE FEAR OF GOD

John L Fisk

01-30-10

Proverbs states that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom (Proverbs 9:10).  I have sat through many attempts to change the word fear into reverence.  I began to wonder why the Bible’s translation to English used the word fear. It is used scores of times in reference to Yahweh but the word reverence is used but once.  In that one context reverence is used,  fear is used also (Hebrews 12:28).  Fear is fear.  It causes knees to go weak and eyes to be covered.  Fear is the substance that caused Isaiah to say, “Woe is me, for I am undone! Because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, The LORD of hosts.” (Isaiah 6:5)  It was present in John when fell at His feet as dead (Revelation 1:17).  Fear of Yahweh is the matter that caused prophet, priests and kings to fall before Him.  The lack of the fear of Yahweh has caused men, families, cities and countries to be ground into the dust of history.

Fear is the beginning of wisdom and thus the first step on the road to becoming wise.  It is the meaning of the line in Amazing Grace which says, “’twas grace that taught my heart to fear and grace that fear released” Fear of the LORD is truly the beginning of wisdom.  The converse is to lose the fear of Yahweh.  It is the first step towards folly.  Yes, it is the first step to become foolish.

There are indicators, bellwethers that can be read when a person or nation lacks the fear of Yahweh.  These indicators cause some to distance themselves from an individual for fear of the fall-out, but what do you do about a nation?  What do you do about a nation that you, who fear God, are a citizen?  You, as a child of God know when the wrath of God is about to fall.  I feel that Yahweh’s wrath is about to fall on the United States.  The nation is pretending that God is.  They have gone beyond the lack of fear of Yahweh to contempt for Yahweh.  The leadership in this nation is trying to embrace the god of Islam as if he is God.  The embracing of another god is the last action that an adulterous nation takes before the fall of that nation.  This is the last sin against God in the long line of national sins this country has codified into law.  These sins started in the 1950’s when churches were silenced in the political forum.  In the 1960’s prayers were removed from schools, in the 1970’s women were given the right to sacrifice their babies to the god of humanism.  Now, Yahweh is being asked to move aside so that the god of Islam can be established as a god greater than the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob.  As Tomas Jefferson said, “I quake for this nation when I consider God is Just.”  I fear His Justice may be executed on this nation and that right soon.

As Abraham pleaded with Yahweh over the destruction of a city, he asked would you spare it for ten righteous.  The answer was, “Yes, for ten righteous I will spare it.”  Truth is for one righteous He would spare it.  He removed all that was righteous in the city before His wrath was poured out on Sodom and Gomorrah. (Genesis 18:23-33) Such is His faithfulness.  Pray that He will reveal His Salvation and that right soon.

One Response to THE FEAR OF GOD

  1. Thank you John for bringing up the fact that many have distanced themselves from lacks of fear of YAHWEH. I myself wonder having seeing the very same thing long time ago, begining in the Church. I believe as you do that Fear of YAHWEH is the matter that caused prophets, priests and kings to fall before Him. I am glad to know that you have sat through many attempts to change the word fear to reverence, because that is how I think of my Heavenly Father always, I go before Him in reverence first, fear second, for yes ” twas grace that taught my heart to fear and grace that fear released. ” I believe yes, that Fear of the LORD is truly the beginning of wisdom. So often I wonder what specifically assault our mind, do we need a ” Helmet of salvation ” because of fear ? are we tempted to believe that heaven does not exist, or if it did, that we are undeserving ? was that what the ” Shield of faith ” deflected ? did the ” Breastplate of righteousness ” stop our mind from running a filmstrip presentation of our fallings ? for me I became aware that my enemy’s attacks seem to center on annihilating hope. Why ? perhaps at least in part because that angel lucifer fell from his holy position, he lost hope. Now he rages against ours. For us God’s chosen, hope is fundamental to faith, as Hebrews 11: 1 states. Because of my reverence for YHWH I am founding it incredible that hope isn’t conjured up by strenght of will. I don’t draw that power by myself, it come from YHWH, and we find it throughout Scripture. Our Father, my Father created an ordered universe out of chaos by speaking, ” Let there be …” the same power authoritately counters confusion in our lives. That’s why speaking the Creator’s thoughts out loud can bring clarity, not some clever message we summon from within, but divine truth accessed by reading the Living Word. The Logos reveals the mind of YHWH and releases hope. Iam experiencing this power firsthand. Because of Yesuha Messiah. Hadassah.

Leave a Reply

